For flood control and protection purposes, Alameda County is divided into zones that roughly correspond to major watershed boundaries. Click on the map above to learn more about flood control and water conservation in your neighborhood:

Our Zones

Activities for Zones 2, 2A, 3A, 4, 5, 6, 9, 12, and 13 are included on this website. Zone 7, comprising Livermore, Pleasanton, Dublin and adjacent unincorporated areas of eastern Alameda County, is served by the
Zone 7 Water Agency.

Where are Zones 1, 3, 8, 10 and 11?

Zone 1 represented the entire county before the District divided flood control programs into more manageable zones based on drainage basins. Zone 3 was modified to become today’s Zone 3A. The idea for a separate Zone 8 was dropped after preliminary studies. Zones 10 and 11 were proposed for Alameda, Piedmont, and Albany, but these cities chose to remain outside the District.